This is really interesting. Another blog at http://green.bligblog.com copied my post verbatim and claims it as their own with no link back to my site at all anywhere in the post. I see they are doing it to other bloggers as well.
Check it out here.
This is really interesting. Another blog at http://green.bligblog.com copied my post verbatim and claims it as their own with no link back to my site at all anywhere in the post. I see they are doing it to other bloggers as well.
Check it out here.
that blog is running off wordpress MU (multi user) the main owner is listed here http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=bligblog.com
you could try emailing an alert, though it may not do any good.
This type of thing is rampant I see it on the wordpress forums all the times.
I guess he believes in recycling. What a prick.
I would send an email but the address is blanked out : (
He/She’s got Carson’s post up from today there as well.
Try this admin@nederlands.net
that’s what comes up if you hit show address
Thanks for the techie help April. I sent off an email. Will see what the response is.
It’s a splog, partly auto generated from your feed. There’s nothing you can really do, but if it’s in Technorati alert them and they’ll pull his listing. They do it to look like a legit blog to boost their nefarious pages’ pagerank on Google to sell more crap.
I could accept it being used to sell more crap if there was a link to at least show the original posting location.
ah ha…it seems Mark’s Reflections, Ruminations and Remarks and Economicobjectorvism isn’t happy with http://green.bligblog.com copying either.
Clearly Saskboy’s right, its a splog. They’re using your post to generate revenue for themselves. Follow the ‘bliggo’ link here: http://www.bliggo.com/
The old fashioned word for what they’re doing is plagiarism, but since you’ve no copywrite notice of any sort on your site (not even Creative Commons, which allows reproduction but requires attribution) there’s probably not a lot you can do legally. Blast ‘em anyway via their host: http://www.bligblog.com/
I ain’t sure whether you can do much technically. If you host yer own site anbd have access to the server, you can ban IP’s from accessing your site. If enough feeders ban these guys’ IP, they won’t be able to access the feeds where they steal content. Their IP is 214.14.80.26. I ain’t up on WordPress features but if you can ban IP’s, give it a try.
JB
anyone hosting their own wordpress blog can install anti-leech
http://redalt.com/Resources/Plugins/AntiLeech
It might be an idea to start a thread on the wordpress.com forums suggesting they offer it as well.
But does the AntiLeech mess up the content for anyone pulling your feed? How can it know that a particular feed is pulling it and giving no credit through a link back to the original poster. I would not want to mess those who are giving credit.
I did visit the http://www.bliggo.com/ but did not see an email contact on that site either. I have thought about moving it to my own domain and I actually have that option. We are finding that of the wordpress themes we have chosen they don’t do very well when we import this blog to a new blog. The formatting goes, sidebar all over the place, etc. It’s weird.
I put the anti leech on my blog and so far no problem.
The plugin page says
AntiLeech also uses a trick to detect when new User-Agents have collected and displayed your posts. You may see a little “AntiLeech” graphic in your feed output.,/b> This graphic helps AntiLeech collect User-Agents that you might want to block. AntiLeech will tell you on what page it first saw the User-Agent, if it can, to help you better make the decision to block that User-Agent or not.
So if I understand correctly you keep an eye on your feed and on the plugin options page submit the info of the offender.
Drop me an email and I’ll see if I can help if/when you want to move.
There’s a tutorial here
You can check and see if you missed any steps.
sorry that was me (breros). I logged into wordpress.com to check something out and forgot to log back out.
My blog (economicobjectorvism) is actually under a Creative Commons license BY-NC-SA, meaning it can be copied or remade if it is attributed (BY), non-commercial (NC) and carries the same license (SA = Share Alike). This blog does none of those.
I did immediately notice they had ads up – which is clever, if identifying them as phenomenal dicks.
I don’t see as there’s much I can do. The anti-leech tip is a good one, I’ll ask WordPress to set it up.
I didn’t know such things went on. You learn something every day:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blog_scraping
Can we complain to Bliggo’s ISP? This is clearly net-abuse.
Thanks so much for your help April. My partner is saying he took those steps in the tutorial. He is going to try uninstalling the 2.2 wordpress and upgrading to 2.2.1
That sucks so bad. I’m sorry. But at least it means your writing is good enough to steal.
I didn’t know such things went on, either! So sorry this is happening. (((((HUGS))))) sandi
Assuming the formatting holds up overnight I will switch it over to
http://womanatmile0.amfresh.ca/
Everything looks great on the new site!
Should I go ahead and move your feed over for Rose’s Place?
Yes please April. I will send a message to Jason and Scott too.
The same thing just happened to me. My site is: http://www.weirdscience.ca and they stole (even the FORMAT is the same) my post on research around tuna/stress. I’ve emailed the admin address you have and i’ve also left messages with the hoster. The hoster specifically mentions copyright in their terms of service so hopefully this person can be removed. Sorry to see it has happened to you as well-I found your site when I did a google search on the culprit.
Hi Weird,
Really sad Miss Weird Scientist that this is happening to so many people. If this gets out of control I can see bloggers quitting. Please visit again at my new site at http://www.womanatmile0.amfresh.ca as I will be closing this one in time. This same post can be found at my news site at http://womanatmile0.amfresh.ca/?p=351 . I will check out your site.
I’m running into this problem too. I have managed to get Google to pull Adsense ads from a thieving “blogger” in China, but now the same post asking for help in getting Google to do that has itself been copied onto another site.
They use Bliggo. No way to contact them, I see.
I would definitely copyright your blog, at least then you have some recourse to go after someone. The Creative Commons license might do you well.