Fun, Frolic and a Side of Politics On Order for the Mayday Weekend

loreena.jpgVery excited about this weekend…. so much to do and so little time. Today I finally succumbed to invitations from my friends and decided to join Facebook. I took a tentative stab at a profile this morning. I decided to join because my daughter takes so many digital pictures and she posts them all online for her school friends to see. She has sent me a few, but if I want to see them all…. joining seemed like the best option. Moreover, next year after she graduates and goes off to college, it will be a good way to keep in touch and on the same page. I figured I may as well get used to it.

The weather guru’s say it will rain on Saturday and Sunday, but it looks OK for Monday which is great because I was planning to attend the Stephane Dion BBQ on Monday with my partner, my daughter and her boyfriend. My partner also won tickets from the Ocean at 98.5 to attend the Loreena McKennitt concert in Victoria tonight. We have 12th row seats and I am absolutely thrilled. I have all of her albums.

I hope all of my fellow bloggers get a chance to get out in the sun for some relaxation and a good time. According to the Star, it looks like we may be having a long politics break soon.

Parliament appears to be seizing up, like an engine out of gas, and there is growing suspicion that Prime Minister Stephen Harper is looking for reasons to shut things down completely in Ottawa – perhaps for as long as four months.

Maybe it’s for the best. I disagree with the Con position on almost everything they have attempted to achieve anyways. I hope the EU G8 countries verbally blast Baird out of his gum boots next month at the G8 summit for the Con “Brown Plan” that completely ignores our Kyoto obligations. Somehow I doubt this government will feel much shame over it though. CanWest reports,

While European countries are pushing for their counterparts to recognize that a future climate change treaty must be designed to prevent average global temperatures from rising by more than 2 degrees C – a dangerous threshold identified by leading climate experts – Canadian government officials, along with the Bush administration, appear to be resisting.

Leave a Reply

